Triathletes continued to dominate the Government Sports Awards, with Tyler Butterfield and Flora Duffy retaining their male and female Athlete of the Year titles at the Fairmont Southampton last night.

It was the fourth straight win for Butterfield, matching the four victories achieved by triple jumper Brian Wellman between 1992 and 95, while Duffy made it three wins on the trot and four in five years. Butterfield beat out swimmer Julian Fletcher and cyclist Dominique Mayho.

Duffy was an overwhelming favourite for the women’s accolade after claiming three world titles last year: the ITU World Triathlon series, the Xterra World Championship and the ITU Cross Triathlon World Championship. She also placed eighth in the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. She was selected ahead of swimmer Rebecca Heyliger and rower Shelley Pearson.

Image by: Royal Gazette

Please click here to read the Royal Gazette article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *